The Hazlitt Society


The Hazlitt Review

ISSN 1757-8299

The Hazlitt Society publishes The Hazlitt Review, an annual peer-reviewed journal, the first internationally to be devoted to Hazlitt studies.  The Review aims to promote and maintain Hazlitt’s standing, both in the academy and to a wider readership, by providing a forum for new writing on Hazlitt and his contemporaries by scholars and lay readers alike. Contents of our earlier issues can be accessed free on this page. 

LATEST ISSUE: Volume 8 (September 2015)

Hazlitt and Art

''Boswell Redivivus': Northcote, Hazlitt and the British School', Martin Postle

'The Elusive Mr Railton: Was Peggy Hazlitt right?', Eleanor Relle

'The Pleasure of Painting', Lisa Milroy

'With Music and Painting in Mind': Religion and Art in Hazlitt's Imagery', Daniel Lago Monteiro


'William Hazlitt: Through the Eyes of a Critic - Display at Tate Britain, 29 September 2014 - 5 April 2015, reviewed by Philipp Hunnekuhl

Stephen Burley, Hazlitt the Dissenter: Religion, Philosophy and Politics, 1766-1816, reviewed by Timothy Whelan

Duncan Wu, ed. All That Is Worth Remembering: Selected Essays of William Hazlitt, reviewed by Gregory Dart

David Higgins, Romantic Englishness: Local, National and Global Selves, 1780-1850,

reviewed by James Vigus

Report on the 13th Hazlitt Day-School and 2014 Annual Hazlitt Lecture, Philipp Hunnekuhl

Obituary: Dr Peter Medway, 1941-2015, Stephen Burley


We invite essays of 4,000 to 9,000 words in length on any aspect of William Hazlitt’s work and life; articles relating Hazlitt to wider Romantic circles, topics, or discourses are also expressly welcome, as are reviews of books pertaining to such matters.

Contributions should follow the MHRA style and should be sent by email to James Whitehead or Philipp Hunnekuhl. Submissions will be considered year-round, but must be received by 1st March to be considered for publication in the same year’s Review. We regret that we cannot publish material already published or submitted elsewhere.  Contributors who require their articles to be open access (under the RCUK policy effective from the 1st April 2013) should indicate this, and they will be made freely available on this website on publication.


Subscriptions, including annual membership of the Hazlitt Society, are £10 (individual) or £15 (corporate or institution) per annum. Overseas subscriptions are $24/£15 (individual) or $35/£25 (corporate).

The Review is distributed by the Society, at the annual lecture or by post. Please contact the Society at hazlittsociety@gmail.com in order to set up a new subscription, including in your message a full postal address for the receipt of your copy. Subscription payments for individual members are preferred by annual standing order (account details on request) or by PayPal.

Payments are also accepted by cheque or postal order, made payable to the Hazlitt Society, to James Whitehead, School of Humanities and Social Science, Liverpool John Moores University, John Foster Building, 80–98 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool, L3 5UZ.


For libraries and other institutional or corporate subscribers, payments are preferred via SwetsUK, who should be contacted at ukops@uk.swets.com, quoting reference 808HAZSO, in order to set up a new subscription. Orders can be placed through EBSCO in the UK and the UK, and other forms of payment are also accepted, as above. The Review is distributed by the Society to all subscribers, so please contact us concurrently with the address to which copies for your library or institution should be dispatched.

Individual back issues can be purchased for £2, or £12 for a complete set of seven issues to date. (Overseas: $4/$26), including postage. We are also happy to send back issues to current Society members gratis. 

Please address enquiries to hazlittsociety@gmail.com or by post to James Whitehead.

Editor: Uttara Natarajan

Assistant Editors: James Whitehead, Philipp Hunnekuhl

 Editorial Board
Geoffrey Bindman James Mulvihill
David Bromwich Tom Paulin
Jon Cook Seamus Perry
Gregory Dart Michael Simpson
Philip Davis Fiona Stafford
A.C. Grayling Graeme Stones
Paul Hamilton John Whale
Ian Mayes  Duncan Wu
Tim Milnes