Fees and funding

Tuition fees

The fees indicated are for undergraduate entry in the 2016/17 academic year.

UK & EU fee
£9,000 (2016/17)
Overseas fee
£16,130 (2016/17)

Various funding options are available, including student loans, scholarships and bursaries. UK students whose household income falls below a certain level may also be eligible for a non-repayable bursary or for certain scholarships. Please see the Fees and funding pages for more details.

Departmental scholarships

The Scholarships and Funding website lists scholarships and funding schemes available to UCL students. These may be open to all students, or restricted to specific nationalities, regions or academic department.

Programme contacts

Languages on the Programme

All students take one or two European languages.

This area of the programme consists of language acquisition work, aimed at achieving full fluency, as well as modules in various areas linked to the language.

Language departments offer modules in literature, linguistics, history, history of ideas, art, films and social, political or cultural studies.

The options offered vary from department to department. Please consult individual departments.

The European languages available as major languages on the programme are:

  • Dutch
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Russian
  • Scandinavian Languages (Danish, Icelandic, Norwegian or Swedish)
  • Spanish

An A grade at A level (or equivalent qualification) in the appropriate language is required for students wishing to major in French, or Spanish.

Dutch, German, Italian, Russian and the Scandinavian languages are offered as major languages with no prior knowledge. The only requirement is a proven ability to learn one language and enthusiasm to start another.

Russian may only be taken as a major language, or as a minor language, i.e. it may not be taken as a joint-major language.

Students may also take a second language as their minor language from the major European languages listed above, as well as from a wide range of other languages.

Dutch, German, Italian, Russian, or one of the Scandinavian languages may be taken as a minor language from beginner's level or post A level in the respective departments. French or Spanish may be taken as a minor language post A level in the respective departments, or from beginner's level or pre A level in the UCL Language Centre.

Bulgarian, Czech/Slovak, Finnish, Hungarian, Polish, Romanian, Serbian/Croatian, Ukrainian are available as minor languages in the UCL School of Slavonic and East European Studies.

Hebrew, Yiddish, Classical Greek, and Latin are offered as minor languages in the relevant UCL language department.

Arabic and Mandarin are available as minor languages in the UCL Language Centre.