UCL Innovation and Enterprise


Celebrating 200 Years of Passenger Rail

14 June 2008

Rail Industry and Rail Heritage event

Trevithick Logo

Commemorative Trevithick Industry Dinner, Exhibition and 4th International Early Railway Conference

UCL hosted a glittering Bicentennial Trevithick Dinner on the 11th June, in the presence of HRH The Duke of Gloucester, KG, GCVO, Patron of the Newcomen Society. Commemorating Richard Trevithick’s demonstration of 1808, the dinner celebrated 200 years of passenger rail and launched the Trevithick Bicentennial Exhibition and 4th International Early Railways Conference at UCL.

Sponsored by O2, with the promotions partnership of Eurostar, the dinner was attended by Chairmen, Chief Executives and Directors of industry including Eurostar, LCR, Virgin Trains, First Great Western, Stagecoach Group, Network Rail, Transport for London, Chiltern Railways, Balfour Beatty, ATOC, O2 as well as heritage and engineering institutions, media and government. The Souvenir Menu of the Bicentennial Dinner, with a list of the distinguished guests, has already been archived by The Science Museum, which curated the special exhibition in the South Cloisters of rare historical material relating to Trevithick.

The Dinner and Exhibition were succeeded by The 4th International Early Railways Conference, which was held at UCL 12-15 June.

Trevithick Dinner Group

(L-R): Prof. David Perrett, Queen Mary’s College, University of London, President of the Newcomen Society; Prof. Bernard Buxton, Dean of the UCL Faculty of Engineering Sciences; Prof Malcolm Grant CBE, President and Provost of UCL; HRH The Duke of Gloucester KG, GCVO, Patron of the Newcomen Society; Dr Anna Clark, Director of UCL Business Partnerships; Mr Ian Johnston, CBE, QPM, DL, Representative Deputy Lieutenant of the Borough of Camden and Chief Constable of the British Transport Police; Prof. Mike Spyer, UCL Vice-Provost Enterprise; Prof. Nick Tyler, Head of UCL Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering (CEGE)

Trevithick Dunne

Ronan Dunne (CEO of O2), Professor Malcolm Grant (UCL Provost) and HRH The Duke of Gloucester KG, GCVO

Trevithick Speirs

Robert Speirs, Chairman, Stagecoach Group

Trevithick Cooksey

Sir David Cooksey GBE, Chairman, LCR

Trevithick Abbott

James Abbott (Editor Modern Railways), Tony Collins, CEO, Virgin Trains and Chris Green (Former CEO Virgin Trains & Non-Executive Director Network Rail)

Trevithick Howeson

Charles Howeson, Chairman, First Great Western

Trevithick Short

Dr Mike Short, VP Research & Development, O2