Tech City UK and UCL launch the Digital Business Academy

UCL and Tech City UK is launching the Digital Business Academy, the world’s first government-supported online learning platform to provide digital and business skills for anyone aspiring to start, grow or join a digital business. The programme is open to all UK residents and requires no pre-qualification.
Read full article

follow us on twitter

2014 UCL Provost’s Spirit of Enterprise Award

The UCL Provost’s Spirit of Enterprise Award recognises the achievements and attitude of an academic at UCL that has demonstrated a willingness to engage with business in multiple ways that have enhanced their core research and teaching activities.

This engagement may include developing relationships that have delivered research sponsorship or helped to seed new products or services in to the market place.

A key element of the entrepreneurial spirit is that it is ongoing, making the best of entrepreneurial opportunities that exist to enhance academic objectives. The vision and drive of such entrepreneurial individuals underpin the legacy of innovation and enterprise at UCL.

2013 UCL Provost’s Spirit of Enterprise Award - Professor Frank Smith, Goldsmid Professor of Mathematics, UCL Mathematics

The 2013 winner in this category was Professor Frank Smith, Goldsmid Professor of Mathematics, UCL Mathematics.

Professor Frank Smith FRS is a world-leading applied mathematician who has engaged enthusiastically and effectively with many industrial partners during his career. The range and depth of activity has been remarkable in recent years involving a variety of partners (e.g Buhler-Sortex, QinetiQ, UK Sport, Unilever, AeroTex, TotalSim, EOARD) covering a wide range of applications (e.g food-sorting machines, aircraft safety, Olympic sports performance, shopping). Funding for research has come in many forms e.g. CASE awards, Faraday and KTN  partnerships. This has provided a welcome boost in PhD numbers in the department, as well as forming a major part of UCL's UoA10 REF impact case studies.

Many of the previous winners, in addition to being recognised for this award, their efforts and achievements have also been noted, leading to them being promoted within UCL:

Prof Alan Penn (2008 winner) is now Dean, Faculty of the Built Environment.

Prof Anthony Finkelstein (2009 winner) is now Dean, Faculty of Engineering Sciences.

Dr David Chapman (2011 winner) is now Vice- Dean (Enterprise), Engineering Sciences.