UCL Innovation and Enterprise


2013 UCL Provost’s Spirit of Enterprise Award

The UCL Provost’s Spirit of Enterprise Award recognises the achievements and attitude of an academic at UCL that has demonstrated a willingness to engage with business in multiple ways that have enhanced their core research and teaching activities.This engagement may include developing relationships that have delivered research sponsorship or helped to seed new products or services in to the market place.

A key element of the entrepreneurial spirit is that it is ongoing, making the best of entrepreneurial opportunities that exist to enhance academic objectives. The vision and drive of such entrepreneurial individuals underpin the legacy of innovation and enterprise at UCL.

Prof Philip Treleaven, Prof Stephen Caddick

The 2012 winner in this category was Prof Philip Treleaven, Professor of Computer Science
Director, PhD Centre in Financial Computing, UCL Dept Computer Science. 

Philip has always been actively involved in entrepreneurial activities in the School of Engineering. He set up the first undergraduate course and was instrumental in setting up the first related MSc in the School. Philip has consistently created companies, encouraged entrepreneurs, taught entrepreneurship, practised entrepreneurship, in short been one of the key drivers in bringing UCL to be an entrepreneurial place.

Philip is a director of 3 companies and serves on the Advisory Board of a Venture Capital company. Philip is director of the Financial Computing Centre and is responsible for the UK PhD Centre for Financial Computing, a joint doctoral training centre involving UCL, LBS, LSE and 15 major financial institutions. Philip also carries out a lot of consultancy work with UCL Consultants.

Many of the previous winners, in addition to being recognised for this award, their efforts and achievements have also been noted, leading to them being promoted within UCL:

Dr David Chapman (2011 winner) is now Vice- Dean (Enterprise), Engineering Sciences.

Prof Anthony Finkelstein (2009 winner) is now Dean, Faculty of Engineering Sciences.

Prof Alan Penn (2008 winner) is now Dean, Faculty of the Built Environment.