Principal Investigators 

Dr Joerg Albert

Dr Joerg Albert is a Senior Lecturer in Neuroscience who is using the fruit fly Drosophila melanogaster to study the molecular and mechanistic bases of hearing, specifically, the process of auditory transduction...

Joerg Albert

Prof Jonathan Ashmore

Prof Jonathan Ashmore is the Bernard Katz Professor of Biophysics at UCL. His laboratory works on the cellular mechanisms of hearing with particular interest in the outer hair cells of the cochlea.

Jonathan Ashmore

Dr Bradford Backus

Dr Bradford Backus is an Honorary Senior Research Associate who studies the basic properties of the human audio-cochlea system using oto-acoustic emissions...

Bradford Backus

Dr Doris-Eva Bamiou

Dr Doris-Eva Bamiou is a Reader & Consultant in Audiovestibular Medicine. Her research interests include auditory processing in neurological patients and in the normal population.

Doris Eav Bamiou

Prof Martin Birchall

Martin Birchall is Professor or Laryngology and ENT Surgeon. He co-led the European Team which successfully performed the World’s first stem-cell based, tissue-engineered organ transplant.

Martin Birchall

Dr Jennifer Bizley

Dr Jennifer Bizley Senior Research Fellow


Dr Maria Chait

Dr Maria Chait is a Marie Curie Experienced Research Fellow who is interested in how auditory sensory information is converted into a perceptual representation of our environment

Maria Chait

Dr Nicolas Daudet

Dr Nicolas Daudet is a Senior Lecturer examining molecular genetics of the Development and Regeneration of Sensory Hair Cells.

Nico Daudet

Prof Adrian Davis OBE

Prof Davis is Director of the NHS Newborn Hearing Screening Programme and an Honorary Professor at the Ear Institute

Prof Adrian Davis

Dr Sally Dawson

Dr Sally Dawson is a Lecturer in Molecular Audiology at UCL. Her research focuses on identifying susceptibility genes for age related hearing loss and the regulation of gene expression in hair cells of the inner ear.

Sally Dawson

Dr Lorraine Everett

Dr Lorraine Everett Clinical Training Fellow


Prof Andrew Forge

Prof Andrew Forge is Professor of Auditory Cell Biology at the UCL Ear Institute. His main area of interest is looking at ways of regenerating auditory hair cells focussing particularly on their supporting cells.

Andy Forge

Dr Jonathan Gale

Dr Jonathan Gale is a Reader in Auditory Cell Biology. His research interests are centred on the repair and regeneration of hair cells after cell damage or loss.

Jonathan Gale

Dr Dan Jagger

Dr Dan Jagger is a Senior Lecturer. He studies membrane properties of spiral ganglion neurons and homeostatic regulation of the cochlea.

Dan Jagger

Prof David Kemp

Emeritus Professor of Auditory Biophysics Prof David Kemp, discovered oto-acoustic emissions while working for UCL. Since then, he continues to be the utmost authority on the subject and pushes forward research in the area.

David Kemp

Dr Nicholas Lesica

Dr Nicholas Lesica is a Wellcome Trust Research Career Development Fellow at UCL. He studies how auditory information is represented in the activity of neuronal populations.

Nick Lesica 160px

Dr Jennifer Linden

Jennifer Linden is Reader in Auditory Neuroscience at UCL. Her research is geared towards understanding the cortical processing of complex sounds, including speech.

Jennifer Linden

Prof Alf Linney

Prof Alf Linney is an Emeritus Professor of Medical Physics at UCL and recognised as a pioneer in the development and application of computer methods and imaging technology to surgery.

Alf Linney

Prof Valerie Lund CBE

Professor Lund is the first Professor of Rhinology in Great Britain. Her role as a clinician as well as an academic is reflected in her research interests; inflammation, infection and tumours of the nose and sinuses.

Prof Valerie Lund CBE

Prof Linda Luxon

Prof Linda Luxon is Emeritus Professor of Audiological Medicine heading up the only academic AVM unit in the UK. Her research focuses on genetic hearing loss.

Linda Luxon

Prof Paolo Macchiarini

Prof Paolo Macchiarini is a Visiting Professor


Dr Torsten Marquardt

Dr Torsten Marquardt lectures in Auditory Biophysics at UCL. His research looks at the advantages and characteristics of binaural hearing and also cochlea mechanics using oto-acoustic emissions.

Torsten Marquardt

Prof David McAlpine

David McAlpine is Professor of Auditory Neuroscience and Director of the Ear Institute. His research focuses on binaural hearing, the ability to locate sound sources and listen in noisy backgrounds.

David McAlpine

Prof Shakeel Saeed

Prof Shakeel Saeed is Chair of Otology/Neuro-otology and Consultant ENT & Skullbase Surgeon, with research intersts in implantation otology, deafness genetics and facial nerve repair.

Shakeel Saeed

Dr Roland Schaette

Dr Roland Schaette Senior Research Fellow. He studies how tinnitus arises in computer models, animals, and humans.

Roland Schaette (160px)

Prof Anne Schilder

Prof. Anne Schilder is Director of the Clinical Trials Programme (UCLP-ENT) and has been awarded the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) professorship for ENT Health Services Research

Prof Anne Schilder

Dr Debi Vickers

Debi Vickers is a Senior Lecturer and a Principal Investigator in speech perception, binaural processing and psychophysics of deafness and cochlear implantation.

Debi Vickers

Prof Anthony Wright

Tony Wright is Emeritus Professor of Otolaryngology and Consultant ENT surgeon. Along side his many clinical duties, Prof Wright researches 3D reconstruction techniques of sectioned images.

Tony Wright

Dr Ifat Yasin

Ifat Yasin is a Senior lecturer and is researching auditory pattern-analysis, pitch perception, non-linearities and localisation using psychophysics and EEG.

Ifat Yasin

Page last modified on 15 dec 14 13:35