Top Resources
A-Z Icon A-Z Index
Term Dates Icon Term Dates
Directory Icon Directory Services
Portico Icon Portico
Registry Student and Registry Services
Student Centre Student Centre
Pay On-line Pay On-line
Study Abroad Icon Study Abroad
Timetable Timetable
Moodle Moodle
Map Icon Maps and Transport links

The Barlow Prize

Founded in 1973 by Emeritus Professor H.E.M. Barlow, F.R.S., formerly Pender Professor of Electrical Engineering, Fellow of the College, and Mrs Barlow

  1. The Barlow Prize may be awarded in each session.

  2. The Prize is awarded by the Council on the recommendation of the Faculty of Engineering.

  3. The Prize is awarded to a graduate student who is judged to have made in the session of award the most original contribution to research in the field of Electronic and Electrical Engineering. If for a particular session more than one student is judged worthy of an award, the Prize may be divided between two or more students.

  4. The value of the Prize is £120 or in the case of division such amount as the Council may determine for each award.

  5. No application is necessary.

  6. The qualifications of candidates are considered by the Pender Professor of Electrical Engineering.

  7. The award is announced in October in respect of the preceding session.

  8. Awards are subject to the provisions of the General Regulations.