Department of Greek & Latin

MA Induction 2015

:: The MA in Classics 
:: The MA in the Reception of the Classical World

Director of the MA programme for 2015-16: Prof. Maria Wyke

Welcome to UCL! There is a Common Room for postgraduate students in the Department of Greek and Latin.


a) Maps of the main Bloomsbury campus of UCL

b) Find useful information about your first few weeks at UCL

... and the New Students' Guide to UCL

c) The International Students Orientation Programme 2015 runs from Monday 23 September – Friday 27 September.

  • Making Intercollegiate Course Choices

Professor Maria Wyke (MA Tutor) is available for individual consultation about making course choices: Gordon House 1st floor, Room 104.  Please book a convenient slot on the sign-up sheet on her office door (Room 104).

Monday 21st September 10.30 to 1pm; Tuesday 22nd September 10.30 to 12; Wednesday 23rd September 10am to 1pm.

Tuesday 22nd September

2:30 - 5.30: MA Intercollegiate Course Fair, Senate House Chancellor’s Hall: programme here

If you wish to take a KCL or RHUL course, you need to complete the appropriate KCL or RHUL intercollegiate form and return it asap to the Departmental Office (Room G05, ground floor, Gordon House).

  • UCL Induction week

RHUL and Kings MA teaching begins.

Professor Wyke(MA Tutor) will again be available to meet students individually to discuss course choices (Gordon House). Please sign up for a time-slot in Gordon House. Please use the sign-up sheet on her door (Room 104, 1st floor, Gordon House).  Monday 28th September 12 to 3.30pm; Wednesday 30th September 10.30 to 1pm.

All students need to complete the MA course selection form and return it to the Departmental Office (Room G05, ground floor, Gordon House).

Wednesday 30th September

2pm to 4pm Darwin B05. Group Induction for all UCL MA students in Classics and Reception.

16.15-18:00 UCL Library Tours. Students will tour the library in groups. The groups will be announced at the meeting for new students.

5:30-7:00 Reception for postgraduate students and staff (room tbc)

  • Monday 5 October

MA classes begin

  • Friday 9 October

14.00 - 15.30: MA Classics core course (M950). First meeting: tbc Programme for the term here >>


TERM DATES 2015-16

  • First term: Mon. 28 September - Fri. 18 December
  • Second term: Mon. 11 January - Weds. 23 March
  • Deadline for MA course-work to be submitted: 5pm, Monday 1 June 2016
  • MA dissertation presentations (all MA students): Thursday 2 June 2016 (9am - 2pm)
  • Friday 3 June (5:30 - 7pm): end of year postgraduate party (Gordon Square)
  • Deadline for MA dissertations to be submitted: 15 September 2016

N.B. Term dates at KCL and RHUL are slightly different: it is your responsibility to check teaching dates if you take a course at these Colleges.


  • Western churches: 27 March 2016
  • Eastern churches: 1 May 2016

Page last modified on 23 sep 15 10:48