Department of Greek & Latin
Facebook

MA Induction 2014

:: The MA in Classics 
:: The MA in the Reception of the Classical World

Director of the MA programme: Prof. Maria Wyke

Welcome to UCL! There is a Common Room for postgraduate students in the Department of Greek and Latin.


GENERAL INFORMATION

a) Maps of the main Bloomsbury campus of UCL

b) Find useful information about your first few weeks at UCL

... and the New Students' Guide to UCL

c) The International Students Orientation Programme 2014 runs from Monday 22 September – Friday 26 September.

  • Monday 22 September

2:00 - 5.00 Professor Maria Wyke (MA Tutor) available for consultation Gordon House 1st floor, Room 104.

  • Tuesday 23 September

12:00 Meeting for all new MA students, Gordon House G09 (Ground floor, Gordon House): Prof. Maria Wyke

2:00 - 5.30 MA Course Fair, Senate House Chancellor’s Hall

  • Wednesday 24 September

9.00-13.00 and 14.00-16.00

Professor Wyke (MA Tutor) will meet students individually to discuss course choices (Gordon House). Please sign up for a time-slot in Gordon House. Please use the sign-up sheet on her door (Room 104, 1st floor, Gordon House).

14:45-18:00 UCL Library Tours. Students will tour the library in groups. The groups will be announced at the meeting for new students.

  • Thursday 25 September

11.00 Information Systems Induction: J Z Young Lecture Theatre.

14:00-16:00 Professor Wyke (MA Tutor) available for final consultation on course choices (Gordon House). Please sign up for a time-slot in Gordon House (sign-up sheet on door of Room 104, 1st floor, Gordon House).

17:00: Deadline for the submission of course choices.

If you wish to take a KCL or RHUL course, you need to complete the appropriate KCL or RHUL intercollegiate form.

  • Friday 26 September

5:30-7:00 Reception for postgraduate students and staff

  • Monday 29 September

MA classes begin

  • Friday 3 October

14.00 - 15.30: MA Classics core course (M950). First meeting: tbc. Programme for the term here >>


*****************************************************************

TERM DATES 2013-14

  • First term: Mon. 30 September - Fri. 13 December
  • Second term: Mon. 13 January - Fri. 28 March
  • Deadline for MA course-work to be submitted: 5pm, Monday 2 June 2014
  • MA dissertation presentations (all MA students): Friday 6 June 2014 (followed by Garden Party 5:00 - 7:00pm)
  • Deadline for MA dissertations to be submitted: 15 September 2014

N.B. Term dates at KCL and RHUL are slightly different: it is your responsibility to check teaching dates if you take a course at these Colleges.

EASTER 2014

  • Western churches: 20 April 2014
  • Eastern churches: 20 April 2014

*****************************************************************

TERM DATES 2014-15

  • First term: Mon. 22 September - Fri. 12 December
  • Second term: Mon. 12 January - Fri. 27 March
  • Deadline for MA course-work to be submitted: 5pm, Monday 1 June 2015
  • MA dissertation presentations (all MA students): Thursday 4 June 2015 (9am - 2pm)
  • Friday 5 June (5:30 - 7pm): end of year postgraduate party (Gordon Square)
  • Deadline for MA dissertations to be submitted: 15 September 2015

N.B. Term dates at KCL and RHUL are slightly different: it is your responsibility to check teaching dates if you take a course at these Colleges.

EASTER 2015

  • Western churches: 5 April 2015
  • Eastern churches: 12 April 2015

Page last modified on 10 jul 14 18:53