Bursaries and Prizes

Bader Bursaries

Through the generous sponsorship of Dr Alfred and Isabel Bader we offer four Bader Bursaries each worth up to £2000 per year of study. Dr Bader is the founder of the Aldrich Chemical Company and an enthusiastic supporter of chemical education. These bursaries are awarded to promising students from state schools and usually from families with no background in HE who wish to study for a degree in this Department. Student potential, rather than A-level grades, is the primary criterion for making these awards. You should get your school to nominate you for a Bader bursary if you think you qualify.

Contact: Dr D M Rowley.

GSK Bursary

New from 2006, again for those who have no background of progress to HE in their family. GSK are offering a single bursary worth £6,000 over the course of the MSci, together with opportunities for work placements during the summer vacation. Further details from Dr Dewi Lewis.

UCL Chemistry Entrance Scholarships

We offer five £500 awards to those with outstanding academic qualification and performance during the first term (the Introduction to Chemical Principles course)

No formal application is required as all new entrants are automatically considered. The announcement of the awards is usually made in early February of a student's first year.

Kathleen Lonsdale Bursary

This award of £250 per year of study is supported by the generosity of Barbara Wilson, and is given to a female student of outstanding potential for the duration of their undergraduate career.

Ronald Gillespie Award for Inorganic Chemistry

Professor Ronald Gillespie has endowed an annual prize of £500 for outstanding scholastic effort of one our graduates who is going on to work for a Ph.D. in inorganic chemistry in the Department of Chemistry at UCL. Professor Gillespie graduated in the Department, and did his Ph.D. work with Sir Christopher Ingold. He was on the staff of the Department from 1946 until 1958, during which period he and Sir Ronald Nyholm produced the Gillespie-Nyholm valence shell electron pair repulsion (VSEPR) model of molecular structure. In 1958 he moved to McMaster University in Canada, where is now Emeritus Professor.

Other Prizes and Awards

Each year, academic prizes are awarded for both exam and laboratory performance. A full list is given here.

Return to Questions and Answers.