Department of Chemistry @ UCL


Department of Chemistry,
University College London,
T: +44 (0)20 7679 4623

Location of Department of Chemistry, UCL

Committee: Session 139


Who we are

Our committee is appointed annually and is in charge of organising the events and activities of the society. Here at the CPS we take an alternative view of democracy: it takes time and effort and unfortunately, being busy chemists, we like to avoid such tasks. 

Each year the outgoing president appoints his successor who is traditionally a member of staff (we are the only student society in the world to count over 100 professors as past presidents). The president appoints a committee of students who act, so to speak, as the civil service of the society. The committee is in charge of making sure the society's ideas get turned into events.

If you would like to get involved with the committee please email us at

2014/15 Committee


Dr Matthew Blunt

Vice President

Dr Hugo Bronstein


Felicity Gossan


Belle Taylor

Advertising Officer

Christophe Lynch

Communications Officer

Kathryn Ashe

Events Officer

Oliver Ware

Blog Writer

Stephen Leach

CPS Team Members

Our team members support the committee and are active in the general running of the society - we could not do an effective job without their valuable contribution. If you are a current under- or post-graduate student and want to get involved, please email us at

Clair Chew
David Freeman
Ding Jie Tan
Emily Gascoigne
Eszter Makkos
Glen Smales
Helena Pradip
James Vale 
Kealan Fallon
Robert Farrow
Shereif Mujahed
Stacy Coomber
Trang Tran