Academic Research Staff

Head of Research Department: Professor Steve Hunt
For changes to this list, please email Ed Whitfield

Academic Research Staff in CDB and associated departments and centres
Staff Member
Email
Research Interests

Prof. Tim R Arnett
BSc PhD

Professor of Mineralised Tissue Biology

t.arnett@ucl.ac.uk 'Fundamental' regulators of the function of osteoclasts (bone destroying cells) and osteoblasts (bone forming cells).

Dr Chris Barnes

Lecturer in Systems Biology

christopher.barnes@ucl.ac.uk Modelling mutational processes in the genome/
Reverse engineering of signalling systems/
Design of synthetic biological systems for therapeutic applications.

Dr Arantza Barrios

Senior Research Associate

a.barrios@ucl.ac.uk Molecular and cellular mechanisms of decision-making circuits in C. elegans.

Dr Caswell Barry

Wellcome Fellow

caswell.barry@ucl.ac.uk Why do place cells respond where and when they do? What factors contribute to a notion of context? What can architecture of the hippocampus tell us about its function?
Dr Jonathan Chubb j.chubb@ucl.ac.uk Imaging transcriptional dynamics.

Dr Leslie Dale
BSc PhD

Reader in Developmental Biology

l.dale@ucl.ac.uk How the embryo of the frog Xenopus laevis develops from a fertilized egg into a swimming tadpole.

Prof. Stephen W Davies
BSc PhD FMedSci

Professor of Molecular Neuropathology

s.w.davies@ucl.ac.uk Ultrastructural and molecular organisation of the neuronal nucleus.

Prof. M Christopher Dean
BDS PhD

Professor of Anatomy

chris.dean@ucl.ac.uk Where, when and why modern humans evolved an extended ~20 year period of growth and development.

Prof. Michael Duchen

Professor of Physiology

m.duchen@ucl.ac.uk Mitochondrial biology in health and disease; mitochondrial pathways as therapeutic targets in neurodegenerative diseases and in ischaemic injury.

Prof. Susan E Evans
BSc PhD

Professor of Vertebrate Morphology and Palaeontology

s.e.evans@ucl.ac.uk Evolution of key morphological features in reptiles and amphibians

Dr Sandrine Geranton

Senior Research Fellow

sandrine.geranton@ucl.ac.uk Epigenetic regulation of chronic pain states.

Prof. Stephen P Hunt
PhD FMedSci

Professor of Molecular Neurobiology and Head of Department

hunt@ucl.ac.uk Molecular Neuroscience of Pain, Addiction and Affective Disorders.
Dr Ricardo Henriques r.henriques@ucl.ac.uk Experimental technology to study biological processes that fall outside of the resolving power of conventional cell biology studies.

Prof. Kristjan R Jessen
MSc PhD FMedSci

Professor of Developmental
Neurobiology

k.jessen@ucl.ac.uk Schwann cells, the glial cells of peripheral nerves.

Phillip Lewis 

Reader

phillip.lewis@ucl.ac.uk  

Prof Roberto Mayor
BSc PhD

Professor of Developmental & Cellular Neurobiology

r.mayor@ucl.ac.uk The mechanism that underlies the development of the Neural Crest.

Prof. Rhona Mirsky
BA PhD FMedSci

Professor of Developmental Biology

r.mirsky@ucl.ac.uk Schwann cells, the glial cells of peripheral nerves.

Prof Andrew Oates

Professor of Vertebrate Developmental Genetics

a.oates@ucl.ac.uk Patterning embryos with oscillations.

Prof. John M O'Keefe
MA PhD FRS FMedSci

Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience

j.okeefe@ucl.ac.uk Space and memory.

Prof. John G Parnavelas
BSc MSc PhD

Professor of Neuroanatomy

j.parnavelas@ucl.ac.uk Cortical Interneuron Migration.

Prof Sandip Patel

Professor of Cell Signalling

patel.s@ucl.ac.uk Calcium signalling by acidic organelles.

Dr Richard Poole

Wellcome Trust Research Career Development Fellow

r.poole@ucl.ac.uk  

Dr Stephen R Price
BA, PhD

Reader in Developmental Neurobiology

stephen.price@ucl.ac.uk How specificity is imparted to the formation of neuronal assemblies in the developing central nervous system.

Dr Jason Rihel

Senior Research Fellow

j.rihel@ucl.ac.uk Genes and neuronal circuits that regulate sleep in zebrafish.

Dr Helen Rowe

Sir Henry Dale Fellow

h.rowe@ucl.ac.uk Epigenetic pathways acting on endogenous retroviruses in stem cells and mouse development.

Prof. Patricia C Salinas
PhD

Professor of Cellular Neurobiology

p.salinas@ucl.ac.uk Molecular mechanisms that regulate synapse formation, maintenance and function in the vertebrate nervous system.

Prof. Fred Spoor
PhD

Professor of Evolutionary Anatomy

f.spoor@ucl.ac.uk Human palaeontology, evolution of skull morphology /Comparative and functional morphology of the mammalian inner ear.

Prof Ralf Stanewsky

Professor of Neurogenetics & Biological Timing

r.stanewsky@ucl.ac.uk Circadian clocks: the genetic and neuronal substrates that contribute to the regulation of the rest/activity cycles in the fruit fly Drosophila melanogaster.

Prof. Claudio D Stern
DPhil DSc FIBiol FMedSci FRS

JZ Young Professor of Anatomy

c.stern@ucl.ac.uk Cell diversity and pattern in the early embryo.

Dr Gyorgy Szabadkai

Senior Lecturer

g.szabadkai@ucl.ac.uk Mitochondria in cellular stress responses in major pathologies such as neurodegenerative disease and cancer.

Dr Masa Tada
PhD

Reader

m.tada@ucl.ac.uk Cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying co-ordinated and directed cell movements.

Prof Geraint Thomas
BA BSc MSc PhD

Prof of Biochemistry

g.thomas@ucl.ac.uk Biochemical and molecular biological approaches to cell biology /cancer diagnostics through Raman microscopic/spectrscopic chemical imaging of tissues and subsequent computational analysis.

Prof David Whitmore
BSc PhD

Professor of Chronobiology

d.whitmore@ucl.ac.uk Circadian clocks.

Dr Thomas Wills

Lecturer in the Development of Learning and Memory Processes

t.wills@ucl.ac.uk Hippocampus and Spatial Maps.

Prof. Stephen W Wilson
BSc PhD FMedSci

Professor of Developmental Genetics

s.wilson@ucl.ac.uk Zebrafish: the mechanisms that underlie patterning of the vertebrate forebrain.

Dr Yoshiyuki Yamamoto
BSc MSc DSc

Lecturer

yoshiyuki.yamamoto@ucl.ac.uk Molecular mechanisms underlying the generation of morphological novelties during evolution.

Prof. Semir Zeki
BSc PhD FMedSci FRS

Professor of Neurobiology

s.zeki@ucl.ac.uk How the visual brain is organised.
Teaching Fellows

Dr Greg Campbell
BSc PhD

Principal Teaching Fellow

g.campbell@ucl.ac.uk  

Dr Jeremy E Cook
BM BCh MA DPhil

Principal Teaching Fellow

j.cook@ucl.ac.uk  

Prof. Stephen W Davies
BSc PhD FMedSci

Professor of Molecular Neuropathology

Principal Teaching Fellow

s.w.davies@ucl.ac.uk Ultrastructural and molecular organisation of the neuronal nucleus.

Dr Sandra Martelli

Teaching Fellow

s.martelli@ucl.ac.uk  
Affiliated Staff

Dr Joerg Albert

Affiliated Senior Lecturer

joerg.albert@ucl.ac.uk  Antennal ears of the fruit fly Drosophila melanogaster.

Siew-Lan Ang

Honorary Reader

sang@nimr.mrc.ac.uk  

Dr Benjamin (Buzz) Baum
BA PhD

Reader in Developmental & Cancer Cell Biology

b.baum@ucl.ac.uk Biophysics of cell division and cancer cell division.

James Briscoe

Honorary Senior
Research Fellow

james.briscoe@nimr.mrc.ac.uk  

Paul Burgoyne

Honorary Reader

pburgoy@nimr.mrc.ac.uk  

Dr Kara Cerveny

Honorary Lecturer

   

Dr Guillaume Charras

Royal Society University Research Fellow

g.charras@ucl.ac.uk Biophysics of living cells both at the single cell and tissue level.

Alexander Gould

Honorary Senior
Research Fellow

agould@nimr.mrc.ac.uk  

Dr Anjali Goswami

Lecturer in Palaeobiology

a.goswami@ucl.ac.uk Vertebrate Palaeobiology, Evolution and Development.

Francois Guillemot

Honorary Reader

fguille@nimr.mrc.ac.uk  

Prof. Maria Fitzgerald
BA PhD FMedSci

Professor of Developmental Neurobiology

m.fitzgerald@ucl.ac.uk Pain mechanisms in neonates.

Dr Monica Folgueira

Honorary Lecturer

m.folgueria@ucl.ac.uk  

Dr Nicoletta Kessaris

Group Leader, MRC New Investigator

n.tekki-kessaris@ucl.ac.uk  

Dr Alison Lloyd

Snr Research Fellow CR-UK, Group Leader LMCB

alison.lloyd@ucl.ac.uk  

Robin Lovell-Badge

Honorary Professor

rlovell@nimr.mrc.ac.uk  

Prof. Mark Marsh

Director LMCB

m.marsh@ucl.ac.uk  

Timothy Mohun

Honorary Professor

tmohun@nimr.mrc.ac.uk  

Dr Paola Oliveri

Senior Lecturer

p.oliveri@ucl.ac.uk Animal Evolutionary biology.

Dr Isabel Orriss

Career Development Fellow

i.orriss@ucl.ac.uk Bone growth and turnover result from the co-ordinated activities of osteoblasts (bone forming cells) and osteoclasts (bone destroying cells).

Vassilis Pachnis

Honorary Professor

vpachni@nimr.mrc.ac.uk  

Dr Franck Pichaud

Group Leader

f.pichaud@ucl.ac.uk  

Prof. William D Richardson

Professor of Biology and Director, Wolfson Institute for Biomedical Research

w.richardson@ucl.ac.uk Neural development and plasticity, with an emphasis on glial cells (oligodendrocytes and astrocytes).

Dr Adolfo Saiardi

Group Leader

dmcbado@ucl.ac.uk  

Iris Salecker

Honorary Senior
Research Fellow

isaleck@nimr.mrc.ac.uk  

Jim Smith

Honorary Professor

director@nimr.mrc.ac.uk  

Jean-Paul Vincent

Honorary Reader

jvincen@nimr.mrc.ac.uk  

David Wilkinson

Honorary Professor

dwilkin@nimr.mrc.ac.uk  
Emeritus Staff

Prof. Patrick N Anderson
BSc PhD

Professor of Experimental Neuroscience

p.anderson@ucl.ac.uk Regeneration in the injured mammalian brain and spinal cord.

Prof. Ruth Bellairs
BSc PhD

Emerita Professor of Embryology

r.bellairs@ucl.ac.uk  
Prof Geoff Burnstock

President of the Autonomic Neuroscience Centre of the UCL Medical School.
g.burnstock.ucl.ac.uk Purinergic signalling.

Prof. Mitchell (Mitch) Glickstein
MA PhD

Emeritus Professor of Neuroscience

m.glickstein@ucl.ac.uk  

Prof. Sheila Jones

Emerita Professor of Anatomy

s.jones@ucl.ac.uk  

Prof. A Robert Lieberman
BSc PhD DSc FMedSci

Emeritus Professor of Anatomy

a.lieberman@ucl.ac.uk  

Prof. Martin Raff
FRS FMedSci

Emeritus Professor of Biology

m.raff@ucl.ac.uk  

Dr John Scholes

Honorary Senior Lecturer

j.scholes@ucl.ac.uk  

Prof. Gerta Vrbová
MD DSc

Emerita Professor of Developmental Neuroscience

g.vrbova@ucl.ac.uk  

Prof. Lewis Wolpert
CBE BSc PhD DIC FIBiol MRCP(Hon) FRS FRSL FMedSci

Emeritus Professor of Biology as Applied to Medicine

l.wolpert@ucl.ac.uk  

Page last modified on 27 aug 14 13:23