UCL Institute of Cardiovascular Science


A comparison of US and (proposed) UK cholesterol guidelines
Mon 14th April
2nd floor seminar room
Rayne Building
5 University Street, London WC1E 6JF

Challenges and Innovations in Cardiometabolic Disease
Fri 9th May
Wellcome Collection
183 Euston Road, London NW1 2BE
Programme and registration

American Heart Association: Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis
and Vascular Biology 2014
1st - 3rd May
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Call for abstracts and preliminary programme

ICS PhD student wins Melvin Judkins Young Investigator Award


Gabriella Captur (fourth from the left), who is currently completing her Ph.D in cardiovascular science at ICS, has won the prestigious Melvin Judkins Young Investigator Award presented by the American Heart Association's (AHA) Council on Cardiovascular Radiology and Intervention (CVRI).

She is primarily based at The Heart Hospital, where she works under the supervision of Dr James Moon and Prof Perry Elliott. She was among 5 finalists, including another UCL Research Fellow Dr Sanjay Banyprasad, short-listed to present their work at the recent AHA Scientific Sessions. Finalists were chosen after submitting their original works having been recognized on their early career research and promotion of careers in cardiovascular radiology.

Gaby’s work is a collaboration between The Heart Hospital Cardiac MRI Unit, Great Ormond Street Hospital, The MRC National Institute of Medical Research, The National Institutes of Health in Bethesda and Brigham Women’s Hospital in Boston. She submitted her manuscript titled " Abnormal Cardiac Formation in Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy - Fractal Analysis of Trabeculae and Prephenotypic Gene Expression” which describes how increased myocardial trabecular complexity measured using a novel fractal-based approach, is one of several prephenotypic abnormalities in hypertrophic cardiomyopathy sarcomere gene mutation carriers without left ventricular hypertrophy.

The oral abstract competition was held on Sunday, November 17th during the AHA Scientific Sessions in Dallas, Texas. Participants were judged on their 10-minute presentations and the winner was announced during the CVRI Council Dinner on November 19th.