UCL-RFH BioBank Clients

Study

Study PIs

ANG01 Brian Hogan Circulating markers of angiogenesis in portal hypertension. brianhogan@nhs.net
BOXITT John Kelly Translational arm of a phase III randomised doubleblind placebocontrolled trial evaluating the addition of celecoxib a COX2 inhibitor to standard therapy for high and intermediate risk noninvasive bladder cancer. j.d.kelly@ucl.ac.uk
CfNEPH Dr Mark Little UCL Centre for Nephrology renal tissue biobank. Identification of genes involved in renal and electrolyte disorder m.little@medsch.ucl.ac.uk
COLORECTAL CANCER Swethan Alagaratnam Use of active targeting quantum dots in diagnosis and as drug delivery agents in colorectal cancer tissues and the detection of serum biomarkers for colorectal cancer diagnosis and screening. swethan.alagaratnam@nhs.net
DARE - Diabetes Alliance for Research in England Prof Robert Elkeles    
GWID10160 - Symptomatic Treatment of Ulcerative Colitis Dr Charles Murray    
HaemoBank Mark Lowdell Collection of bone marrow and peripheral blood mononuclear cell specimens from a wide range of haematological malignancies m.lowdell@medsch.ucl.ac.uk
HCC bank Roopinder Gillmoore Analysis of immune responses and mechanisms of immune evasion in patients with hepatocellular cancer in order to optimise T cell based immunotherapeutic strategies.  roopinder.gillmore@nhs.net
IMMODULON      
Immunology      
Immune monitoring Hans Stauss The use of Immune Monitoring in Transplant patients to gain information about correlates of immune activation and clinical outcome h.stauss@ucl.ac.uk
INDEX Louise Dickinson A Phase II study assessing focal treatment of prostate cancer using highintensity focused ultrasound. misslouisedickinson@gmail.com
ION Brain Tumour Bank Prof Sebastian Brandner    
Lexicon      
ME/ Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Dr Eliana Lacerda and Dr Luis Nacul  UK’s first biobank of human blood samples for research into the causes of Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (M.E. /CFS) on behalf of the London School of hygiene and Tropical Medicine. Eliana.Lacerda@lshtm.ac.uk Luis.Nacul@lshtm.ac.uk
NCLWE bank Chris McNamara North Central London and West Essex Cancer Board are working with the BioBank to provide access to diagnostic samples of haematological cancer. This provides unrivalled access to tissues blood and bone marrow at disease presentation and at each followup sampling. Hang.Pang@royalfree.nhs.uk
NET bank Dr Chrissie Thirwell NeuroEndocrine Tumour Bank one project aims to carry out an integrated (epi)genomic analysis of the NET BioBank established at the Royal Free and UCL Hospitals to identify new biomarkers for translation into diagnostics and therapeutics. The tissue bank will potentially be available for national and international collaboration with the aim of improving the quality and quantity of research into NETs in both the clinical and basic science setting. Christina.thirlwell@ucl.ac.uk
NET01 Tim Meyer A randomised phase II study comparing capecitabine plus streptozocin with or without cisplatin chemotherapy as treatment for unresectable or metastatic neuroendocrine tumours. t.meyer@ucl.ac.uk
Parkinson’s Disease   Study of the Aetiology & Prodrome of Parkinsons disease contact the Parkinsons Disease Consortium http://www.ucl.ac.uk/ukpdc/
ProT4 Ronjon Chakraverty Multicentre randomised phase II study to evaluate the efficacy of prophylactic transfer of CD4 lymphocytes after T cell depleted reduced intensity HLA identical sibling transplantation for indolent non Hodgkin’s lymphoma and CLL. r.chakraverty@ucl.ac.uk
PTLD Tanzania Thaque Phase II Clinical Trial in Edinburgh aimed to treat Post transplant lymph proliferative disorder (PTLD) patients with EBV specific CTLs. thaque@medsch.ucl.ac.uk
TACE2 Tim Meyer A randomised placebocontrolled double blinded phase III trial evaluating sorafenib in combination with transarterial chemoembolisation (TACE) in patients with unresectable hepatocellular carcinoma. t.meyer@ucl.ac.uk
TapB - Tissue access for Patient Benefit Prof Brian Davidson | Prof Barry Fuller   http://www.ucl.ac.uk/tapb
TRANSBIL Steve Pereira A trial looking at the Mcm5 protein test for diagnosing cancer of the bile duct gallbladder or pancreas. stephen.pereira@ucl.ac.uk