MH Housman Room bar cropped

Honorary Members of the ASCR

The ASCR has a number of Honorary Members, elected by the Committee in recognition of their service to UCL or to the Common Room: 

Professor John Aiken, Michael Brady, Sue Cartwright, M. Chapallaz, Professor Henry Cleere, Ruth Dar, Deborah Finding,  Lars Fischer, Andrew Fisher, Professor James Graham-Campbell, Sir Malcolm Grant, Beck Hurst, D. W. James, Gordon Kenshole, David Knight, J. Page, Brigitte Picot, Professor Randolph Quirk, Professor Roland Rosner, Jane Spender, John Washbrook, Brian D. Watts, Fran Williamson, Professor Michael Worton

Becoming a member:  Who is eligible? 

Since January 2012 membership of the ASCR has been open to all new, current and retired members of UCL staff.  Occasional use is available to holders of a number of honorary positions, and other members of the UCL community may be invited by the committee to join.  For full details, please see Paragraph 2 of the ASCR Constitution on this site, or contact the Manager.

Membership fee and how to join

The annual subscription is £30.  All new members of UCL staff will receive an application form in their UCL information pack.  If you are not a new member of staff and wish to join, contact the Manager or take a copy of the form from just inside the Housman Room entrance.

Completed and signed, the form should be returned to the ASCR Manager, c/o V-P's Office, South Cloisters, UCL, Gower Street, London WC1E 6BT.

Most new members choose to pay the fee through automatic deduction from their salaries in Term 1.  If you prefer to pay by cheque, please send your cheque for £30, payable to UCL, to the ASCR Manager, address as above.

If you think you have joined and want to check whether you are a registered ASCR member, please see the current membership list; there is also a printed version in the Housman Room. 

If you have any other questions, please contact the Manager.