Research Seminars

Research Seminars are free and open to the public.  They take place on Thursday from 6.00pm - 8.00pm (unless otherwise stated) at the Department of History of Art in Seminar Room 3, 20 - 21 Gordon Square, London  WC1H 0AG.  Enter at the back of House 20 and take the stairs to the 1st Floor.See Contact for maps.

2015 Spring Term

Date Speaker Title
Thursday 15 January

Prof. Briony Fer

University College London

Manet Backwards
Thursday 22 January
Prof. James Clifton
Director, Sarah Campbell Blaffer Foundation, Houston
Travels with Jesuits in China, Real and Imaginary
Thursday 26 February
Prof. Jas' Elsner
Oxford University
The Invention of Late Antiquity: Art Between Politics and Religion from c1900 to the Aftermath of the First World War
Thursday 5 March
Dr. Cadence Kinsey
British Academy Post Doctoral Fellow, University College London
t.b.a.
Thursday 12 March
Dr. Emma Barker
The Open University
Figuring Blindness in Eighteenth-Century French Art
Thursday 19 March
Prof. Caroline Arscott
The Courtauld Institute of Art
t.b.a.

2014 Autumn Term

Date Speaker Title
Thursday 2 October

Prof. Tamar Garb

University College London

Sex, Savagery, Servitude: 'Maid in South Africa'
Thursday 9 October

Devin Fore, Princeton University

Lucy Raven, Artist and Filmmaker

Stephanie Schwartz, UCL

Seeing Double: A Symposium on Old and New Technologies
Thursday 16 October

Dr. Ara H. Merjian

New York University

Painting in Chains: Giorgio de Chirico's Willful Claustrophilia
Thursday 13 November

Dr. Elizabeth Edwards

De Montfort University

Folded in History: Contemplating a Photographic Album
Thursday 4 December

Prof. Griselda Pollock

University of Leeds

Making Feminist Memories: The Case of Helen Rosenau and Woman in Art 1944

Darwin Lecture Theatre, Darwin Building, Gower Street

Previous Years

For previous seminars see Postgraduate Seminars