2011-2012

Programme for Summer 2012

Date Speaker Topic
Friday 18 May
Elizabeth Lebas (Middlesex University)
Forgotten Futures: Municipal Cinema as the People's Cinema?
Friday 1 June
Luke White (Middlesex University)
Damien Hirst: The Capitalist Sublime?
Friday 15 June
Ulrich Lehmann (University for the Creative Arts)
Fashion and Materialism
Friday 29 June
Steve Edwards (Open University)
Book Launch of Steve Edwards' Martha Rosler, The Bowery in two inadequate descriptive systems, published by Afterall

Programme for Spring 2012

Date Speaker Topic
Friday 20 January
Fred Schwartz (University College London)
Peter Weiss: Aesthetics, Historiography, Resistance
Friday 3 February
Mike Wayne (Brunel University)
Beyond the 'Bourgeois' Kant: Marxism's Debt to Kant's Philosophy
Friday 17 February
Christian De Cock (University of Essex)
The Idea of Marx in Financial Times
Friday 2 March

Stathis Kouvelakis (King's College London)

Gail Day (University of Leeds)

Dave Beech (Chelsea School of Art)

Cultures of Marxism 2: Manifestos of the Left


Programme for Autumn 2011

Date Speaker Topic
Friday 14 October
Andrew McGettigan (Central Saint Martins)
Financialisation, Monetisation, Privatisation: Creating the New Market in Higher Education
Friday 28 October
Alex Levant (Wilfred Laurier University)
Self-emancipation, activity theory, and political deskilling/reskilling: Some thoughts on organising into a big fish
Friday 25 November
Sarah James (University College London)
A Socialist Realist Sander: Comparative Portraiture as a Marxist Model in the German Democratic Republic
Friday 9 December

Warren Carter (University College London)

Barnaby Haran (University of Bristol)

Steve Edwards (Open University)

Alberto Toscano (Goldsmiths, University of London)

Alan Bradshaw (Royal Holloway University)

Cultures of Marxism 1: Publishing and the Left

Room S261 Senate House