2004-2005

Programme for Summer 2005

Date      
Speaker 
 Topic
Friday 6 May Mike Marquese


Marxists and Popular Culture: Patronisers or Participants?
Friday 13 May Gail Day
University of Leeds
Use and Abuses of Uses
Friday 27 May
Roger Behrens and Kerstin Stakemeier Is Late Capitalism too late for Art?
Friday 10 June Angela Dimitrakaki
University of Southampton

Materialist Feminism for the 21st Century: The Video Essays of Ursula Biemann


Programme for Spring 2005

Date      
Speaker 
 Topic
Friday 21 January
Steve Edwards
Open University
Grotesque Aesthetics: Photography Then and Now
Friday 4 February
Dennis Broe
Long Island University
Class, Crime and Film Noir: Labour and the Fugitive Outsider
Friday 18 February
Julian Stallabrass, Courtauld Institute and Brandon Taylor, Winchester School of Art Discussion of the Saatchi Collection
Friday 4 March
Stewart Martin
Middlesex University
Absolute Art, Absolute Commodity
Friday 18 March MIC convenors in conversation with Emma Barker, Steve Edwards, Gill Perry, and Paul Wood Round Table on the Open University's AA318 Art of the Twentieth Centurycourse

Programme for Autumn 2004

Date     
Speaker
 Topic
Friday 8 October
John Roberts
University of Wolverhampton
Collaboration as a Problem of Art's Cultural Form
Friday 22 October
Caroline Arscott
Courtauld Institute of Art
Heart and Flesh: The Designs of William Morris
Friday 19 November
David Margolies
Goldsmith's College
Dialectical Shakespeare: An Approach to the Problem Plays
Friday 3 December
David Cunningham
University of Westminster
Architecture and Critical Knowledge of the Urban