Teaching Fellows and Postgraduate Teaching Assistants 2015-2016

Part-time Teaching Fellows

Dr Lora Angelova

Main research interests:
Conservation treatment methods and technologies, especially gel-based and thickened surface cleaning systems and their effects on the material composition and stability of the treated artwork.

Office hours: tba
Course: HART1303

Email: l.angelova@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Lora Angelova

Dr Stina Barchan

Main research interests:
The visual culture of Weimar Germany; gender and representation.

Office hours: tba
Course: HART3101

Email: barchan.stina@gmail.com

Stina Barchan

Dr Carla Benzan

Main research interests:
Early modern art and visual culture (especially seventeenth-century Italy); polychromatic sculpture and relief; trompe l'oeil painting; theories of space and place; embodiment and the body in relation to early modern theories of the image.

Office hours: tba
Course: HART1307

Email: carla.benzan.10@ucl.ac.uk

Carla Benzan

Dr Catherine Berger

Email: catherine.berger@ucl.ac.uk

 

Dr Eva Branscome

Main research interests:
Architectural history and theory during the 20th century, looking at how this intersects with culture and other disciplines. I am currently conducting a Postdoctoral Research Fellowship sponsored by the Gerda Henkel Foundation in collaboration with the Museum Abteiberg in Mönchengladbach, Germany, to investigate connections between Hans Hollein’s architecture and art practices of that time.

Office hours: tba
Course: HART2214

Email: eva.branscome@hotmail.co.uk

Dr Eva Branscome

Elizaveta Butakova-Grimshaw

Email: e.butakova@googlemail.com

 

Dr Paul Fox

Main research interests:
The representation of armed conflict in modern western cultures.

Office hours: tba
Course: HART3103

Email: pldfox@hotmail.co.uk

Dr Paul Fox

Dr Nick Grindle

Main research interests:
My research is on 'traffic' and representations of the movement (sometimes forced) of people and goods in eighteenth century Britain. I'm preparing an exhibition on the painter George Morland (1763-1804) to open in March 2015 at the Stanley and Audrey Burton Gallery at the University of Leeds

Office hours: tba
Course: HART3205

Email: n.grindle@ucl.ac.uk

Nick Grindle

Dr Janice Hitchens

Main research interests:
Twentieth century modern art and visual culture with a particular focus on European and American figurative sculpture.

Office hours: tba
Course: HART1307

Email: j.hitchens@open.ac.uk

 

Rye Holmboe

Email: ryedholmboe@gmail.com

 

Catherine McCormack

Email: cath.mccormack@gmail.com

 

Dr Matilde Nardelli

Main research interests:
Modern and contemporary American and European art and visual culture, with an emphasis on moving image, photography and print media.

Office hours: tba
Course: HART3321

Email: m.nardelli@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Matilde Nardelli

Dr Laura Slater

Main research interests:
The relationships between art, ideas, power and politics in medieval Britain and Europe.

Office hours: tba
Course: HART3201

Email: laura.slater@york.ac.uk

Dr Laura Slater

Giulia Smith

Email: giulia.smith@ucl.ac.uk

 

Dr Sarah Thomas

Main research interests:
The art history and museology of the British empire, art and travel in the 18th and 19th centuries, the iconography of slavery, and the cultural legacies of British slave-ownership.

Office hours: tba
Course: HART3229

Email: sarah.thomas@bbk.ac.uk

 

Dr Susannah Walker

Main research interests:
Painting and graphic arts 1790-1870 and print culture in Britain 1700-1848 with particular focus on the intersection between subjective narrative and historical trauma.

Office hours: tba
Course:HART 2105, HART 2202

Email: ucwclwa@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Susannah Walker

Graduate student Teaching Assistants 2014-2015

Art in London courses

Larne Abse-Gogarty
Eray Cayli
Allison Deutsch
Rye Holmboe
Hans-Christian Hönes
Elizabeth Kim
Rosemary Moore Alfonso Dias Ramos
Giulia Smith Sarah Thomas

Undergraduate Core Course HART1001

Sophie Morris
Andrew Witt


HART1304 Thematic Seminar: Skin and Bones: Medieval Bodies in London Museums and Galleries

Taylor McCall
 

Foundation course

Moran Shelag HART1305 (Foundation 2) Se Na Lee HART1306 (Foundation 1)

Gateway course

Kelly Freeman HART2010 (Gateway 1)
Rye Holmboe HART2011 (Gateway 2)
Sevan Injejikian HART2010 (Gateway 1) Sarah Wade HART2011 (Gateway 2)