Academic Staff

Dr TJ Demos

Main research interests:
20th century art, contemporary art and globalisation.

Office:  301, 20 Gordon Square
Office hours: Tuesday 10.00-11.00; Wednesday 10.00-11.00
+44 (0)20 3108 4015 (internal 54015)
Email: tj.demos@ucl.ac.uk

Dr TJ Demos

Diana Dethloff

Main research interests:
17th century British painting and patronage.

Office:  201, 20 Gordon Square
Office hours: Monday 13.00-14.00; Thursday 12.00-13.00
+44 (0)20 3108 4013 (internal 54013)
Email: d.dethloff@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Diana Dethloff

Dr Natasha Eaton

Main research interests:
18th and 19th century British art, post-coloniality and empire.

Office:  402, 20 Gordon Square
Office hours: Monday 16.15-17.15; Tuesday 16.15-17.15
+44 (0)20 3108 4018 (internal 54018) 
Email: n.eaton@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Natasha Eaton

Dr Mechthild Fend

Main research interests:
18th and 19th century French art.

Office:  G05, 21 Gordon Square
Office Hours: Monday 16.30-17.30; Thursday 17.00-18.00
+44 (0)20 3108 4019 (internal 54019)
Email: m.fend@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Mechthild Fend

Professor Briony Fer

Main research interests:
20th century European and American art; contemporary art.

Office:  305, 21 Gordon Square
Office hours: Tuesday 12.00-13.00; Thursday 16.30-17.30
+44 (0)20 3108 4030 (internal 54030)
Email: b.fer@ucl.ac.uk

Prof Briony Fer

Charles Ford

Main research interests:
17th century Dutch painting.

Office:  B01, 20 Gordon Square
Office hours: Tuesday 14.00-15.00; Thursday 14.00-15.00
+44 (0)20 3108 4010 (internal 54010)
Email: charles.ford@ucl.ac.uk

Charles Ford

Professor Tamar Garb

Main research interests:
19th and 20th century French art and visual culture; contemporary art; feminism and global politics; art and culture in South Africa; the image of the 'Jew'; race and representation in modern and contemporary art.

Office:  205, 21 Gordon Square
Office hours: Wednesday 10.00-11.00; Thursday 16.30-17.30
+44 (0)20 3108 4014 (internal 54014)
Email: t.garb@ucl.ac.uk

Prof Tamar Garb

Dr Sarah James

Main research interests:
20th century photography and photographic theory, German and Eastern European Art, contemporary art and theory.

Office:  206, 21 Gordon Square
Office hours: Thursday 16.00-17.00; Friday 14.00-15.00
+44 (0)20 3108 4029 (internal 54029)
Email: sarah.james@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Sarah James

Dr Petra Lange-Berndt

Main research interests:
Modern and contemporary with a history, materiality, entanglements of art and science, animal studies, unpopular arts such as taxidermy, artists' colonies.

Office:  407, 21 Gordon Square
Office hours: On sabbatical all year
+44 (0)20 3108 4031 (internal 54031)
Email: p.lange-berndt@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Petra Lange-Berndt

Dr Maria Loh

Main research interests:
Early modern Italian art and theory; Venice; theories of authorship and desire; repetition and the double in art and film.

Office:  406, 21 Gordon Square
Office hours: Tuesday 13.00-14.00; Wednesday 11.30-12.30
+44 (0)20 3108 4032 (internal 54032)
Email: m.loh@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Maria Loh

Dr Robert Mills

Main research interests:
Medieval visual culture; representations of pain and punishment; saints; gender and sexuality; animal studies; translation.

Office: B06, 21 Gordon Square
Office hours: Monday 13.00-14.00; Thursday 12.30-13.30
+44 (0)20 3108 4020 (internal 54020)
Email: robert.mills@ucl.ac.uk

Dr. Robert Mills

Dr Emma Richardson

Main research interests:
Characterization and conservation of synthetic polymers, mechanical properties of textiles and films, and the in situ analysis of artefacts

Office: 303, 20 Gordon Square
Office hours: Monday 13.00-14.00;  Wednesday 13.00-14.00
+44 (0)20 3108 4017 (internal 54017)
Email: e.richardson@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Emma Richardson

Professor Rose Marie San Juan

Main research interests:
Early modern Italian visual culture (Rome and Naples); urban space and visual technologies (print / film).

Office:  204, 21 Gordon Square
Office hours: Monday 16.30-17.30; Thursday 16.30-17.30
+44 (0)20 3108 4027 (internal 54027)
Email: r.sanjuan@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Rose Marie San Juan

Professor Frederic J. Schwartz

Head of Department

Main research interests:
Modern German art, architecture and design; critical theory and the historiography of art.

Office:  202, 20 Gordon Square
Office hours: Tuesday 14.00-15.00 & by appointment
+44 (0)20 3108 4028 (internal 54028)
Email: f.schwartz@ucl.ac.uk

Prof Fred Schwartz

Dr Stephanie Schwartz

Main research interests:
19th and 20th Century Photography and Photographic Theory, American Visual Culture, Postcolonial Theory and Geography, Contemporary Cuban Art, Media Theory

Office:  307, 21 Gordon Square
Office hours: Thursday 16.30-17.30; Friday 15.30-16.30
+44 (0)20 3108 4026 (internal 54026)
Email:  stephanie.schwartz@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Stephanie Schwartz

Dr Richard Taws

Main research interests:
18th and 19th-Century French and British visual culture; art and the French Revolution; print culture.

Office:  403, 20 Gordon Square
Office hours: On sabbatical all year
+44 (0)20 3108 4025 (internal 54025)
Email: r.taws@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Richard Taws

Dr Alison Wright

Main research interests:
Italian painting, sculpture and drawing/ design from the 14th to the earlier 16th century, focusing on  artistic practice, functions, patronage, questions of ideology and reception.

Office:  G05, 21 Gordon Square
Office hours: Tuesday 13.00-14.00; Thursday 14.00-15.00
+44 (0)20 3108 4033 (internal 54033)
Email: alison.wright@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Alison Wright