A Future for the Past

18 May 2011

A Future for the Past, APPAG Reception at the Institute of Archaeology, May 2011

The Institute recently hosted a special reception to recognise the significant contribution the All Party Parliamentary Archaeology Group (APPAG) has played in ensuring that the importance of the past is acknowledged.

The Institute was delighted to welcome Lord Glasgow, Lord Howarth of Newport, Lord Renfrew of Kaimsthorn, Dr Mike Heyworth (Director, Council for British Archaeology), and Dr David Harrison (International Development Committee, DFID) on Tuesday 17 May to the lunchtime event.

Guests were given the opportunity to handle a range of objects from the Institute of Archaeology collections, including material from the Indus Valley, Western Asia and Mesopotamia and ancient Greece.  The archaeological objects in the Greek Loan Box which the Institute makes available to schools (for Key Stage 2 of the national curriculum) was also viewed by those attending the reception. In addition, a photographic exhibition charting the Institute's history from the 1930s to the present day was on display.

A Future for the Past, APPAG Reception at the Institute of Archaeology, May 2011

APPAG was set up at the initiative of Lords Howarth, Renfrew, and Redesdale in 2002 in the wake of the failure of a Heritage Bill in Parliament just before the 2001 General Election. Over the last decade it has been influential in framing aspects of archaeological policy both in terms of legislation nationally and also further afield.

APPAG has been instrumental in influencing the continued funding of the Portable Antiquities scheme, in terms of the Coroners and Justice Act 2010 and in ensuring that the Dealing in Cultural Objects (Offences) Act 2003 was passed through parliament.  In addition, the group seeks regular information on matters that relate to archaeology in the UK and abroad.

All Parliamentary Party Archaeology Group (APPAG) logo

A number of Institute staff participated in the event including Stephen Shennan, Tim Schadla-Hall (a member of the APPAG Advisory Group), Joe Flatman, Andrew Gardner, Kevin MacDonald, Gabe Moshenska, Theano Moussouri, Dominic Perring, Thilo Rehren, Andrew Reynolds and David Wengrow.

A Future for the Past, APPAG Reception at the Institute of Archaeology, May 2011

Current PhD students in Public Archaeology, Chiara Bonnacchi, Paul Burtenshaw, Sarah Dhanjal and Amara Thornton also shared their experiences of undertaking research in this area.

Thanks are accorded to UCL Public Policy who partly sponsored this event.