MSc International Relations of the Americas

Visiting Fellows

visiting fellowships

The research community at UCL-IA is focused on producing ground-breaking research at the forefront of several academic disciplines while contributing to the development of interdisciplinary and transnational approaches to the study of the Americas. It is also actively engaged in research at the interface of scholarship and policy, engaging a broad range of stakeholders, including government, NGOs, communications media, and civil society, in the UK, the Americas, and beyond. UCL-IA Fellows actively participate in a variety of activities by contributing to the Institute’s events, research and teaching programmes. If you are interested in applying for a fellowship at UCL-IA, please consult our Fellowships page

Richard Follett is Professor of American History at the University of Sussex and for 2014-15, the British Association for American Studies--UCL Institute of the Americas research fellow.

Professor Follett is currently writing White Fright: Slave Revolts in American Memory, a history of slave rebellions and their legacies from the 18th to early 20th centuries. He is also completing Plantation Kingdom: The American South and its Global Commodities, co-authored with Sven Beckert, Peter Coclanis, and Barbara Hahn. Both books are under contract with Johns Hopkins University Press.

  • Professor Hal Klepak

Expert on War Studies Royal Military College of Canada. Hal Klepak is Professor Emeritus of History and Strategy at the Royal Military College of Canada. He has his BA Honours International Relations from McGill University and his MA and PhD in History from the University of London.

Professor Klepak has served as Strategic Analyst at both National Defence Headquarters in Ottawa and with NATO Headquarters in Brussels, initially specializing in the Middle East but then moving on to a greater concentration on Latin America.

Dr Mallet received her PhD in 2013 from the Sorbonne University.  She was a Fulbright scholar (2012-13) and then a Postdoctoral researcher at Harvard University (2013-14), in the Sociology Department. She is currently a lecturer at the Sorbonne University - Paris IV.

Her research interests are immigration, Latino studies and race and ethnic relations. She is currently working on several projects, amongst which a book project looking at Latino intra-group relations and a collaborative project examining Latino immigrants' experiences with social services.

  • Professor Manuel Olle Sese

Professor PhD of Criminal Law and International Criminal Law at the Universidad Complutense of Madrid, Spain. Corresponding Member of the Royal Academy of Jurisprudence and Legislation of Spain. Author of numerous articles, monographs and doctrinal opinions in national and international journals.

Professor Olle is a member of various projects of national and international research on international crimes, especially in the Americas. Counsel before courts and international institutions. Member and manager of various international missions related to the defense of Human Rights and the prosecution of international crimes.

Assistant Professor at Universitat Jaume I (Castellon, Spain). She has a Degree in Geography and History from Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia UNED Spain), and a Ph.D. in History from Universitat Jaume I. 

Professor Sanchez's two main lines of research are focused on the history of anarchism in Spain and Cuba at the beginning of the twentieth century, and on colonial Cuba, especially slavery, during the nineteenth century

The Institute has been honored to have hosted the following visiting fellows in the past:

Professor Roberto Gargarella (Universidad Torcuato Di Tella, Argentina), was the 2014 Leverhulme Trust Visiting Professor at UCL Institute of the Americas (UCL-IA). He is a distinguished Argentine lawyer and sociologist, with doctoral degrees from Universidad de Buenos Aires (1991) and University of Chicago (1993). He also holds Master Degrees from the Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLACSO, 1990) and University of Chicago (LLM, 1992). Professor Gargarella pursued his post-doctoral studies at Balliol College, Oxford. He has also been awarded a John Simon Guggenheim scholarship (2000), and a Fulbright scholarship (2010), and has taught at numerous universities, including the New School for Social Research, Columbia University, Bergen University, and Southwestern University. In recent years, Professor Gargarella has specialised in comparative American Constitutionalism, which provided the foundations for his visit to UCL.

Professor of History and Anthropology at the University of Florida, Prof Thurner’s research and teaching interests are in the areas of Postcolonial Theory, Colonial and Postcolonial Spanish American History, Historiography, Nationalism, and Museum Studies. He is currently carrying out research for two books: a global history of the museum, with an emphasis on Iberia and Latin America; and a history of the global historical imagination, with an emphasis also on the Iberian world.

  • Dr Nick Witham

Dr Witham held the UCL-IA/BAAS Fellowship in United States Studies in early 2014. NIck is Lecturer in American Social and Cultural History at Canterbury Christ Church University. He holds a BA in History and Politics from the University of Warwick, and an MRes and PhD in American Studies from the University of Nottingham.

During the course of his UCL-IA/BAAS Fellowship in US Studies, Nick worked on a new, book-length research project that examines the concept of the 'public intellectual' within the American historical profession during the cold war, focussing on the work of Richard Hofstadter, John Hope Franklin, Daniel Boorstin and Howard Zinn.